TamoSoft: Network Analysis Tools & Security Software

Network Content Monitor - NetResident

NetResident Help Documentation Next Page

Database Management

All captured and analyzed network information is saved to the NetResident database. At some point, the database may grow too large and this will affect the program's performance. On the other hand, some records become obsolete over time and are no longer needed. In this case we suggest that you remove unnecessary records using the Database Management Wizard.


Click File => Manage Database to launch the Database Management Wizard.


Click on the Next button. The next page lets you view the current state of the database, its size and the number of records. It also allows you to choose the operation to perform with the database.




This page lets you view current network events saved in the NetResident database. The Date column allows you to find the records by date (year, month, day) when the recorded network events occurred. The Records columns displays the number of network events for the period, selected in the Date column. If you would like to delete all network events in the database, select the Delete All option. If you would like to delete the records for a specified time period (day, month, year), check the corresponding box and select the Delete Selected option.


Important: The records will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered!


If you'd like to save the database for further use on another computer, select Export Database. NetResident will save the database in a file that can be viewed later by selecting the Import Database option.


Note: Database Export writes all events from the database to a file. Database import deletes all records in your current database!


If you need to restore data from an archive, select the Restore from archive option. Note that event dates are also imported from an archive, so you may need to change the filter settings for the records to be shown. If the database size limitation option is enabled, event records are automatically archived at the end of the day, and the archive would contain duplicated records. To prevent this from happening, you need to either disable the database size limitation option or delete the required records manually.


Choose the desired operation and click the Next button. When you select Import or Export options, you will be prompted for a database file name. If the Restore from archive option is selected, you will need to indicate which folder in the archive contains the records for the desired date. Database maintenance may take a significant amount of time. Data monitoring and logging will be paused while the changes are being entered into the database.